Game On!

I love the start of a new year. (Other than the fact that I’m going to write the wrong year for the next 3 months) I love the fresh start. It is exciting to think what the New Year is going to bring. “Where” are we as a family going to be in 12 months? What in my life is going to have changed, for the better? The worse? What are my goals for the New Year? What do I wish I could have done differently last year? It’s a time to re-evaluate my life and make sure I’m going in the direction I want to be.

I, like just about everyone else on this planet, have weight loss goals for 2011. I didn’t quite accomplish my goals for 2010, but I did lose 31 lbs. which is way less than I was hoping but I guess I really like to dream big. It is just nice to think that I have made progress. Even if I still have a long way to go, it’s not as long of a journey as it was last year.

When I started I was 220. I’m now 189 (I did manage to keep my goal of staying under 190 during the holidays. Just barely, but I did eat a whole lot of cookies, and I enjoyed every. single. one.) I have completed 41% of my journey to my goal weight of 145. I’m 5’6” so that is right about where “healthy” is for me. Now I have changed that number a lot in my life. What I think I want to weigh, but being healthy is important to me. So is not having overweight, obese or God forbid, morbidly obese, which I think I was when I was 220, written in my chart at the doctor is, for lack of a better term, HUGE for me.       

I have realized that my biggest struggle with getting back on track with my weight loss since this summer has been that I reached a point in my weight loss where I was comfortable in my skin again. I got to the point where I can shop for clothes again. I may not be able to wear everything that I want to but my choices have certainly increased. I’m down two sizes and I feel so much better mentally and physically. It was really easy to just be proud of what I had done, and sit here at a “comfortable weight”. I’m over that now.

I’m ready to kick my ass back into gear. I’m ready to re-commit to myself and my health. I’m lighting a fire under my jiggly butt and it’s time to actually achieve my weight goals. And for the first time, maintain them. 

I’ve got 44 lbs. to go until I reach my goal weight. My Lose It! App tells me (yes, we talk a lot. In fact, she really likes to yell at me if I skip more than one day of working out… bitch) that if I lose 2 lbs. a week, I’ll reach my goal weight by the first week in June.  WOOT WOOT!!! Maybe I could actually wear shorts that go above my knees in public for the first time in 10 years. I know that it seems like a daunting goal and I might be setting myself up to fail, but I want to see if I can do it. I need a challenge. I need a set date. 2 lbs. a week is in the “safe” range. And that is what this is all about; making the permanent changes in my life so I can safely lose and maintain my weight loss goals.

Now unless this is the first time you’ve read one of my McFatty post, you might know that I’m a wee bit obsessed with Biggest Loser because well… obviously.  So for fun, as season 11 starts on Tuesday, I’m going to challenge myself to lose 24 lbs. by the finally which from what I can figure out is usually about 13 weeks. That averages out to be about 1.8 lbs. a week. I know it is a little less than what my main goal is but I like round numbers, so having 20 lbs. left to go makes my OCD brain happy.

So what about you? Are you on the “weight loss bandwagon” for the New Year? Do you want to join me in my own little Biggest Loser challenge??

So… to 2011, I’m ready, GAME ON!

4 thoughts on “Game On!

  1. Pingback: Hope in one hand, S*** in the other; see which one fills up first… | Lacey's Laughable Life

  2. Pingback: McFatty vs. The Girl Scout Cookies | Lacey's Laughable Life

  3. Pingback: McFatty week 2 of 2011 | Lacey's Laughable Life

  4. I’m definitely planning on losing a little this year, if just to keep up with how much Craig seems to be constantly losing. I do like your Biggest Loser idea (I’m also quite addicted to that show). Will be starting back up next week, though. Need to get through the rest of this trip first. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

