McFatty Monday… I’m a Douche.

It has been quite a week. I’ve workout more in the past week than I have since I was on my high school dance team. It feels great but every muscle in my body still hurts. It’s a “good” hurt but I walk a little funny none-the-less.

A few weeks ago I made an off-handed comment on FB to my girlfriend about how I would like to try her new kickboxing class she was going to start teaching. A little while later I get a txt asking if I was serious, (I totally was, the chance to try something new sounded awesome) and if I wanted to start getting together and going over stuff so she could practice teaching and get some teaching tips from my Hubby. Oh, and it might make more sence if I tell you that he was a women’s kickboxing coach for years at a local dojo. Who could say no to having a personal trainer come to your house for free?!?! I’m not dumb enough to pass that up.

So for the past couple of weeks she has been coming over to kick my ass. It really has been a lot of fun. Besides getting some great sweat sessions in, I have learned to love a new workout. And I’ve learned to see my Hubby in a new light.

See, I’ve always had this problem of not wanting to learn something from my husband. I don’t know why, it doesn’t make any rational sense. I just couldn’t do it. I didn’t want him to teach me kickboxing, but I wanted to learn so when my friend said she would teach me I didn’t even hesitate.

I have thought a lot about this because I can’t figure out WHY I have/had such a problem learning from him. He is a wealth of fitness information, and he loves to teach. It was amazing to watch him light up while teaching. As if he was back to a place he hasn’t been able to get to for a very long time. (He had to retire a few years ago due to arthritis in his hands, a side effect of doing martial arts for 20+ years)

So, the only answer I can come up with as to why I refused to learn from him when others feel so grateful to get one on one time with him, is because I never “saw” him in the position of my teacher. I never went to any of his classes and I was never part of that world. So even though I knew what he did, he never played that role in my life. Switching to view your husband as an authority rather than an equal is kinda hard. Oh, and I’m a douche.

At least I feel like one. Once we got started, it didn’t take me long to get over all of my fears and reservations about learning from him. He is a really fantastic teacher and just puts you at ease. Another reason as to why I feel so lucky to have him as my husband. 

We are even looking into getting our own pads and gloves so we can continue training at home. There is no way I’m going to pay for  a class when I can train on my own time in my own home. I’m finally willing to utilize the resources I have, and I really do feel like a douche for it taking me this long.

Disappointing weight loss this week despite over 4 hours of kickboxing this weeks. I’m going to chalk it up to me over eating because I feel like I’m starving all of the time due to the increased activity. So that is going to be my focus this week. To keep my eating in check a bit more.

Weight: 186.2

Loss: -.2

Total loss: -33.8

One thought on “McFatty Monday… I’m a Douche.

I'd love to hear what you think!

