SAHM

It’s two weeks today that I have officially been “unemployed”.

That is really odd for me to say. I’ve had a job since I was 15, and if I didn’t have a job I was a full-time student. So this has been a major adjustment that is still going to take a while to get used to. I know how lucky I am to have been given this opportunity. My husband and I talked a lot about it and I did a lot of back and forth on it. I loved my job. Parker loved daycare. But no matter how you break it down, you need to be in the green after paying for child care. Sadly, once I would have two in daycare, I would be in the red. It would cost me to go to work, and that doesn’t work. So the choice really was made for me.

Now, you might be thinking, why quit so soon? Baby isn’t due until April…? I have several reasons. First is Parker. We battled ear infections from January to April last season and he was pretty much on a steady flow of antibiotics which is wreaks havoc on anyones body. So instead of putting him through an unnecessary surgery to put tubes in, pulling him from daycare before the cold and flu season really hits seemed like the best plan.

Secondly, are my purely selfish reasons. We live in Minnesota, and not having to drive though snow storms to get to and from work, or dragging my kid out in -30 below eye juice/snot freezing cold sounds pretty awesome. Also not having to work through the crazy of the holidays is a total bonus.

And lastly, (okay, so it’s not a reason that I quit, but I’ve been really grateful to not be working) is that this has turned into a high risk pregnancy. I seem to be having quite a few doctors appointments, testing, phone calls, etc… all of which would be harder to deal with at work. Not including the fact that I’m to be “taking it easy”. Again, it might not been on the list of reasons to leave when I did but I’m really thankful that things have worked out the way they have.

I’m so grateful of this opportunity. To me that is what it is. An opportunity. I know that there are a lot of mom’s out there who would love to be able to do this. I was really scared about not working. About having to answer that question “what do you do” for the first time. There seems to be judgment from people either way. Working outside the home or stay at home. At the end of the day we are all mom’s. The good ones are the ones who are trying to do their best and not eff up their children. I’m thankful that everyone I have told has been really supportive. I seem to be (extremely) emotional with this pregnancy, which is why I think it is a girl, and if someone was an ass about it I’m predicting they would either get a throat punch, or I’d cry. (Do you think “pregnant” as an excuse would stand up in court??)

I'd love to hear what you think!

