Homemade Liquid Fabric Softener

This recipe I think I can actually call my own. It took me quite a few batches with lots of trial and error to find something that I really liked. I started by reading through all sorts of different recipes that I could find on other people’s blogs and honestly I’m not even sure where I got this ingredient list from but the measurements and method are something I did on my own.

You’ll need:

  • 6 C. vinegar
  • 4 C. Boiling Water
  • 1 C. Baking Soda
  • 20-30 Drops of your favorite essential oil (optional)

Start by bringing the 4 C. water to a boil in a LARGE pot. (it is going to bubble up at some point so grab the biggest pot you have)

 Once boiling, turn off heat and add 1 C. baking soda. It is going to foam up!

<– Adding this

                                                  Does this –>

Give it a good stir until it has (for the most part) stopped foaming up, it will continue to make a sizzle sound though and should look like this:

 Add vinegar about 1-2 C. at a time just to control the foaming.

Stir it up. Now is when you can add in your oil. This isn’t necessary for the function of the softener it is just to get rid of the vinegar smell. I used grapefruit just because I like the smell and they were out of lavender.

Some of my favorites are french lavender, grapefruit, orange, lemon, & eucalyptus but you could use whatever you’d like. I found my essential oil for $5.40 at a local natural foods store and I’m on my same bottle I started with even after about 6 batches I have about half a bottle left.  

After mixing in my oil I pour the mixture into a juice pitcher to fill old commercial fabric softener bottles. You could use what ever you would like. I’ve reused vinegar bottles and such. Experiment! It is the fun part.

I have an HE front loading washer and use 1/3 cup in each load. As the batch makes 10 cups you get about 30 loads for just pennies.

Cheap & Easy. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Homemade Liquid Fabric Softener

  1. Pingback: Useful Household Tips, Tricks, Tutorials and Links | Its for the Home

  2. Pingback: 45 of the best household tips, tricks and tutorials. | Home DIY Project

I'd love to hear what you think!

