Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

This has got to be the easiest DIY thing I make. It literally will take you longer to pull things out of your cupboards and to put them away then the actually “making” process. Would love to give credit to where I got this recipe, but 1. I don’t actually remember, 2. it really is a combination of two recipes and 3. I have increased the amount of salt that was in the original recipe. It is pretty basic though.

What you need (this is a double batch and makes about 3 Cups)

1 C. 20 Mule Team Borax

1 C. Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda (NOT BAKING SODA!!!)

1 C. Kosher Salt

**8 pks unsweetened lemonade

A container large enough to hold the mixture. I use an old cottage cheese container. A mason jar, Tupperware, or in a pinch, a one gallon ziplock bag will do.

Then all you do is measure it out and dump it in. Put the lid on tight and give it a good shake and your done! See, EASY.

Use 1-2 TBLS per load. I personally use 1 in the “pre-wash” or open spot and 1 in the spot with the lid. I have been using this homemade mix for months and love it.

A little note, because of the citric acid in the lemonade pks, the mixture over time will start to get hard or “chunky”. I solve the problem by giving it a good shake every time I use it.

**The original recipe calls for citric acid which isn’t that easy to come by but you can order it online, find it at your local brewery supply store or some natural/organic/whole foods places will carry it. I called around and to buy it local it is $9.99/lb and I’m too cheap for that. After searching the interwebs, I found that the lemonade pks work just as well and at $.12 each they are quite a bit cheaper and much easier to find. The citric acid is what is used so your dishes are not cloudy. If you have really hard water you can always increase the number of packages that you’re using or you can use straight citric acid.

Then, instead of using an expensive rinse agent, just pour in some white vinegar.

Cheap & Easy 🙂

Let me know if you have any questions and if you try the recipe what you think!

I'd love to hear what you think!

