The doctors report & yes, I’m “choosing” to be induced.

My baby has the hiccups right now. Which has nothing to do with this post but I just thought I’d throw that out there because I LOVE it.

Any who, on to the important stuff.

I saw my OB today at my new hospital. (I did say I would update you so please, be impressed I’m actually doing this in a timely fashion) The whole thing took about two hours and Parker was such a trooper through it all. I went armed with snacks, toys, my iPhone and anything else I could shove into my purse to try to keep him entertained. He was shockingly good until the last 15 minutes when even I was ready to start screaming and running around like a crazy person so I’m really not shocked that my two-year old started too.

We started with the “Prenatal Educator” which if I was at the beginning of my pregnancy would have made sense because they go over your questions, what is going to happen, classes you can take, blah, blah, blah. But at 30 weeks I’m kinda past all of that and just looking for the finish line. She did have to take my history and fill in all of the info she needed so I get why the meeting was needed but I was slightly annoyed because I had gone to the trouble of making two trips to the records department of my old hospital to make sure that I had everything ready to go and wouldn’t have to go through all of that again, but whatever I guess. I think I was too prepared for them or something, as I kept getting these “you really have all of this information with you?” looks. Um, Yes. Hello?! Type-A over here, thank you.

After meeting with the Prenatal Educator, taking a quick tour of Labor and Delivery, and scoring some swag (water bottle, bib and those tiny little nail clippers which are so necessary for little fingers) I headed over to see my Doc.

The whole thing was kinda funny I have to admit. Let me start with the fact that my OB is really laid back and we are very comfortable with each other. Two of the many reasons that I chose to stay with her and change hospitals. That being said, I was her 1st patient on her 1st day at her new job, so the nurses seemed a little frantic as they were unsure of how she did things, what she expected of them, they didn’t want to piss off their new highly sought after new boss, etc. I on the other hand knew what to expect and thought it was funny to watch them all squirm. I’m just THAT person. And I may have asked questions I knew they wouldn’t know the answers to, just because I could.

The doctors report your ask? All is well. My fundal height is 31 which is right on track. The baby’s heart beat and my blood pressure were good. I love being boring. I’ll be having a growth ultrasound during the week following Easter and then from there we will more than likely be scheduling my induction for about 39 weeks.

Yes, I just said we are going to schedule my induction. Now before someone wants to fly off the handle and starts leaving horrible and bitchy comments I would like to finish. I have done my research. I know that labor is harder for both mother and baby. I know that my chances of a C-section jump through the roof. I’ve read the articles. I’ve watched the documentaries. I’ve pushed out a 10 lbs 3 oz 22 inch long baby after 15 hours of labor and 1 1/2 hours of pushing, with no vacuum or forceps and yes, I was induced as I had preeclampsia .

I’m not afraid of having a large baby. I’ve been there and done that. I’m not choosing to do this for selfish reasons. I’m choosing to do this after carefully discussing and weighing my options and considering my OB’s trusted medical opinion.

During Parker’s delivery, he ended up with shoulder dystocia due to his size. Take it away March of Dimes (the link will take you to the page with addition information)

Shoulder dystocia occurs when a baby’s head is delivered through the vagina, but his shoulders get stuck inside the mother’s body. This creates risks for both mother and baby. Dystocia means “slow or difficult labor or delivery.”

Complications: Usually, the mother and the baby do well and have no permanent damage. But there may be some complications. For the baby, risks include:

  • Injury to the nerves of the shoulder, arms and hand. This may cause shaking or paralysis. In most cases, the problems go away in 6 to 12 months.
  • A broken arm or collarbone.
  • Lack of oxygen. In the most severe cases, which are rare, this can cause brain damage and even death.

Complications for the mother include:

  • Heavy bleeding after delivery
  • Tearing of the uterus, vagina, cervix or rectum
  • Bruising of the bladder

Although it was resolved quickly, there were no complications, and I really had no idea what had really happened until later, it could have very easily gone the other way.

So all that being said, I’m choosing what is best for me and my family and if the ultrasound indicates that this little girl is going to be big like her brother, I’m going to schedule an induction. Please respect that.

One thought on “The doctors report & yes, I’m “choosing” to be induced.

  1. Pingback: 31 weeks |

I'd love to hear what you think!

