32 week ultrasound report & video

I had an appointment on Monday with my OB and although things looked good, she wanted to do a growth ultrasound just to see how our Little Miss is doing.

The growth ultrasound was today, and I guess it was the opposite of what I was expecting, other than the sex that is. She is still a she. We have been expecting a large baby this whole pregnancy since Parker was born at 10 lbs 3 oz against all medical reasoning. I had high blood pressure, which ended in preeclampsia. A common “side effect” of pregnancy induced hypertension or high blood pressure is babies with low birth weights. I did not have gestational diabetes, nor does anyone on either side of our immediate family have a history of large babies. So my OB chalk it up to me just growing large tiny humans. 

With that being said, I went into the appointment today expecting our little girl to be following that same path. Not the case. She is in fact measuring a little over a week behind, or about 9 days. I have low amniotic fluid levels. Although it appears to still be in the “normal” level, it is at the low-end. From the information I can find, normal is from 8-18, and she said mine was 9. Then the icing on the cake is that she is breech. ::sigh:: Now I know that there is still plenty of time for her to flip and frankly she could do it a couple more times before I deliver but it is just one more thing that is going to sit in the back of my mind. I was so sure that she was head down though, I was kinda shocked. I did try calling to see if my OB was still in the office so I could get some reasurance but that is going to have to wait until Monday since she is gone for the weekend.

The good news is that everything else looked fine. We were even able to see her practicing her breathing which is fantastic. The tech tried for quite a while to get a 3-D shot but her face was pushed into my placenta and then she woke up and there was no chance after that because she wouldn’t hold still. Though, I did get several short videos on the CD that she gave me that I strung together to share. 🙂

One thought on “32 week ultrasound report & video

  1. Pingback: 33 weeks |

I'd love to hear what you think!

