& then I cut off all my hair.

Okay, so maybe not all of it. But a lot for sure.

I have this pattern that I seem to follow in regards to cutting my hair. I couldn’t tell you why, it is just something that I have always done. I will let it grow until it is somewhere between my mid back and my ass, then I’ll spend a few weeks complaining about how much hair that I have and I’m sick of it until I wake up one morning ready to cut it all off. That day. My hair grows uber fast so I’m lucky in that regard, but I only cut my hair about once or twice a year.

It was a couple of weeks ago that I had finally reached that point where I needed to cut it. Maintaining it becomes so much work. It is difficult to sleep with it wrapping around my neck. It is so heavy, that I start to get headaches. Now I know that the “Katness braid” is really in style right now, but when that is the only thing you can do with your hair, it gets old. I have fine hair but I have A LOT of it. Since it is so thick, if it wasn’t down it wouldn’t dry. Which starts to irritate my scalp. Again, I don’t know why I let myself go so long.

This last time I was kinda trying to get it long enough to donate it as i have done in the past but because of my layers and that I wanted to still be able to put it in a ponytail, we weren’t able to get a single cut. After all said and done it was between 9-11 inches that was taken off. It is an extremely freeing feeling I will admit. I just love it. It is such a nice change. I was nervous before getting there but I did surprise myself at how “un-attached” I really was to the length of my hair. I was all “woo hoo!” and not “Oh, I hope I don’t regret this in the morning!”

Picture time! Now, I will say that I’m not much of a self-picture kind of person. I feel dumb the entire time. The whole “picture in the bathroom mirror” is just not my thing, but I wanted some kind of record so a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

My inspiration. (NOT ME-but all found on pinterest)

20120827-144239.jpg

My before.

20120827-144350.jpg

My after, with a bit of curl.

20120827-144521.jpg

straight. (please ignore my bitch face, I was actually concentrating which I guess look one in the same)

20120827-144539.jpg

a (tiny) ponytail!

20120827-144552.jpg

2 thoughts on “& then I cut off all my hair.

  1. Thanks! I think I’m addicted to the dramatic change or something. I might keep it short(er) this time though.

    & yay for the “wake up & do it” decisions! I’m too impatient to make an appointment weeks in advance. lol!

I'd love to hear what you think!

