Fluffy Friday week 8 (on Saturday)

I can’t believe that I have been at this for 8 weeks now. I would be lying if I were to say that I’m totally happy with my progress, but I have always been one of those “instant gratification” people. Weight loss can be so excruciatingly slow for me that it is difficult to remember that I am making progress and I am making forever changes here. It takes a lot of time to change bad habits.

“Workouts” in the sense of running shoes, free weights and pouring sweat have been non-existent in my life the past few weeks. I’m still struggling on finding the time. Since it has been a couple of weeks I’m really starting to feel it. My body is angry and wants to be worked. I need to stop making excuses and start making the time. (It’s only 4% of my day, right?)

Although I did lose weight this past week, it wasn’t as much I would like but the fact that I didn’t gain, I’m absolutely shocked. So much so that I almost didn’t get on the scale at all because I really did not do so hot on the food choice front this week. Monday was my birthday (28) and so there was cake. Ice cream cake to be exact. A lot of ice cream cake. For almost the whole week. And it was oh so good. We also went to my “Birthday Breakfast” which is this ah-mazing brunch that they have at a local restaurant on Sunday mornings. It is awesome enough that we have deemed it ‘for birthday’s only’ because it is impossible to make good choices when you have an endless supply of bacon, waffles, omelets (made to order), hash-browns, and I could go on but I’m sure you get the point. It is fantastic.

So I’m sure you can understand why I didn’t want to get on the scale. Admitting to yourself that you have made poor choices and now have to deal with the consequences is tough. It is easier to just ignore it, but then you end up reaching a place where you’re standing there looking at yourself in the mirror going “how the hell did this happen?!?” That is why I forced myself to get on the scale. That is why I do it every week. I might not like the number but at least I know what it is. At least I’m trying to change it. Even if the progress I’m making is slow going, I have to keep reminding myself that I’m going in the right direction.

Starting weight 222
Last week 211.4
This week 210.6

Total loss 11.4

I'd love to hear what you think!

