That’s what boobies are for.

Why all of this breastfeeding controversy? Why is everyone getting their panties in a freaking bunch. Has everyone forgotten one small FACT. BREASTFEEDING IS WHAT BREASTS ARE FOR. Period. End of conversation.

I don’t care if you use them for their intended purpose or not. This is not about formula vs. breast milk. This is about the fact that when every girl hit puberty, she develops breasts to feed her future offspring. They are not there for sexual purposes, or to make her shirts fit better, or to balance out he size of her ass. Although these are awesome added bonuses, it is not why women have them. Our bodies grow boobs to feed our babies.

My husband and I joke that my boobs are currently on loan to our daughter. He is extremely supportive though I’m not sure that I would have stuck with it with our son with out him.

Our society is what has changed our views on breastfeeding to think that it is gross, or unnatural. The thought that it is inappropriate for young children to see a baby eating, that is what they are doing, EATING, is completely ludicrous.

Do I want to see, another women’s boob, not really. It isn’t my thing. Is it going to ruin my day if I do, absolutely not. I wont even give it another thought.

For those that say, a women breastfeeding a child is “exposing their children to inappropriate sights”, I say this. I have had many children with ages ranging from 2 to about 8 or 9 who at that time, had never seen an infant nursing ask me questions. They go a little like this.

Child: What are you doing?

Me: Feeding my baby.

Child: From your boob?

Me: Yep, that is what they are for.

Child: Oh, Okay. (Child continues doing whatever it was they were doing)

Now can you please tell me how this conversation is in any way inappropriate or is going to scar your child for life? Please, enlighten me.

For those that say, “use a cover” . I say this. Some babies will NOT eat while covered. My daughter, who is currently 5 months old, will not latch when she is covered. She will simply fling her head back, and kick and scream at my boob while pulling at the cover until I remove it. So please, explain to me how attempting to use a cover is going to prevent people from seeing my nipple? And really, it is “the nipple” that everyone is getting up in arms about because once my daughter is latched you only see the same amount of skin that you would see if I was wearing a tank top.

Again, it is ridiculous that people are freaking out about a nipple. EVERYONE HAS THEM. Some people even have extra ones. It is perfectly acceptable for a man to walk around with out his shirt on, even if they have keg and man boobs instead of a 6 pack and pecks. People are not shielding their children’s eyes to that. And if you have been around a naked toddler, they love to play with them! They know they have them. What the hell is the big deal?

Breastfeeding shouldn’t be a controversy. And no women should feel shamed for doing what their body was created to do.

Women have boobs to feed their babies. Period.

 

::vent over::

6 thoughts on “That’s what boobies are for.

  1. Nope, not a hospital grade one. I’m still using the Medela Pump in Style that I got when I had Parker. It is a workhorse. I just did a lot of pumping very early on due to jaundice and latch issues which gave me an over supply which I then took advantage of to build a stock pile. I think I became a bit of a hoarder though. lol. I hate pumping though and I’m finally down to only pumping in the morning and before bed. I think things are finally starting to regulate. 🙂

      • I get the feeling that society would like to see this “hippie” way of feeding our babies to end, even though organizations like the WHO completely support it and encourage it!! Two YEARS is the current recommendation! What’s your take on that? Do you see yourself going that long? My boy is 12 months and I don’t see an end in sight, but I also don’t know if I’m confy to go until 2 or beyond. We’ll see, I guess!

        • I honestly don’t know how long we will go. I mean I competly support anyone who wants to breastfeed for any length of time but for us I “think” I’ll wean down to just a morning and night feeding after she turns 1 and then see how things go from there. I have over 2000 oz of milk in the freezer as of now, so no matter what she might be drinking it until she is two anyway!

          • Goodness!! Did you have one of those hospital grade breastpumps or something?! I can’t stand pumping! I have only pumped for upcoming events (like when I was going to be gone to an amusement park with the older kids, I pumped 3 bottles worth, the week before, for my husband to give him while I was gone).

I'd love to hear what you think!

