Excuse: I don’t want to be ‘that’ person.

Excuses. Everyone has them for everything. Especially when it comes to health and fitness.

I want to start addressing these excuses that I have used my whole life, and I’m sure other people have too. I’m going to put these excuses down in writing, along with why they are bull shit so that 

I. will. never. use. them. again. 

I don’t want to be that person.

Who is that person? It is the person who is always measuring and weighing their food. The person who is always adding up their calories and figuring out how long they would have to run on the treadmill to burn it off. The person who because they decline to eat their way through the buffet table at a party, could not possibly be enjoying themselves or they must not want to be there. The person that other people make the “oh, you can have just one! It won’t hurt you” comment too. The person who can’t eat cake guilt-free.

These were my bull shit fears. Fears that my sub-conscious has made up for what other people “might” think of me if I became that person.

Guess what… I’ve never eaten cake guilt free. I’ve eaten it and eaten it a lot. But I’ve always told my self “I shouldn’t do this”, “this is a bad idea”, “I’m going to regret this later”. I’d say it, and beat myself up over it, but it wouldn’t stop me.

As for being THAT Person? Why not? Why don’t I want to be THAT person? Why do I care what other people might think of me? Why is it weird to care about what I eat? Not caring has gotten me to where I am. Being this person obviously isn’t working.

When I look at That person I see them as Fit. Healthy. Thin. Happy. Self confident. Driven. Determined. Strong.

And I realize I’m jealous.

I want to be THAT person!

So we bought a scale. And I’ve wanted a scale for a long time but never got one because I was afraid of being that person. Now I’m going to proudly be that person. Being able to weigh my food makes keeping track of calories a “piece-of-cake” 😉

No really, it is soooooo much easier. It’s no wonder I would give up after a few days of trying to food journal before. I’m type-A and if I can’t get some things exact, my brain will just fizzle and freak out. Making it easier to quit rather than deal with it. I’m my own worse enemy when it comes to weight loss. My scale has been a true life changer as pathetic as that might sound, but it is true. It is a fantastic tool to have because if you’re not measuring your food by weight or cups or whatever, I’d bet money on the fact that your eating too much, or in some cases too little.

Get a scale. Be informed.

Come be THAT person with me.

I'd love to hear what you think!

