Fluffy Friday

Before I get to the (good) fluffy news, there are a few things I need to note.

Now, I’ve had a bunch of blog ideas floating in my head for a couple of weeks now, but getting them out has been quite an issue. Motivation to do much of anything has been gone. Mostly because of this…snow

Yep. It is April 19th and we have gotten over a foot of effing snow in the past 48 hours, and that doesn’t include the 6ish inches we got at the start of the week! I’ve got such a horrid case of cabin fever I don’t even know what to do with myself. We all desperately want to be outside but it just keeps SNOWING!!! There is also this BIG EVENT coming up in 22 days that is supposed to take place outside…. I know that everything will workout perfectly, even if there is still snow on the ground but COME ON! MOTHER NATURE PLEASE CUT US A BREAK!

Also? Charlotte turns one(!!!!) on Tuesday. We are having her party on Sunday and I’m just in a daze with how fast time has gone. I’ll have a ton of pictures to post of the party and her 1 year shoot next week so I will apologize now for the photo storm that is coming. My plans of an outdoor shoot have been shot to shit though. Grrrr.

On to the good news! We lost weight this week! On Monday I re-programmed my calorie counter after reading post after post of stories that I could have written myself about their stalling weight loss. We all feel we are doing exactly what we should be doing but nothing is happening, or even worse gaining weight. There really is nothing more frustrating than being 100% dedicated and driven, doing everything that you think you should be doing but then still gaining weight. The problem we all shared is that we were not eating enough. I know, I know, I know! I’m a broken record. I keep talking about this week after week but this time I was diligent about actually eating all of my calories (within 100+/-).

I was determined to do it full out this week even if it meant that I gained 5 lbs because I was eating too much. The only way to find out if my suspicions were right was to accurately test it. Even though it felt like the opposite of what I should be doing, I stuck with it. It might sound ridiculous but it hasn’t been easy to eat more. I’m going against everything I’ve ever been told about losing weight. Going against every perception I have about weight loss. “Everyone” says to eat less & workout more. Easy right? Not so much. At least not for me. I’m still working on finding that input/output sweet spot for my body but I’m still trying and I’m making progress! That is a huge achievement, and I have to keep reminding myself of that.

I have never kept with it like this before. I have always given up by now. This time feels so different then every other time before when I have tried to make these changes, it is hard to explain. I don’t know if it is because Matthew is doing it with me and having that support is so amazing and has made a world of difference for sure. But I also feel that knowing we are done (snip, snip) having babies has really changed my entire mindset. The “I’m going to get pregnant and I’ll have to start all over, again.” isn’t there anymore nagging at me. This is the body that I’m going to have for the rest of my life and another baby isn’t going to push me back to the starting line. After a collective 8 months of trying to get pregnant, 18ish months of being pregnant, and 21 months of breastfeeding, I finally(!) get to have total control over my body. 

Now for next week, my goal (the 1st of my short-term goals) is to make it back to ONEderland! (2.8 to go!) That is a place that I haven’t been to in a very, very, VERY long time.

This weeks weigh-in

Lacey

  • This week -1.6 lbs
  • Total -11.4 lbs

Matthew

  • This week -1.6 lbs
  • Total -12 lbs

12 thoughts on “Fluffy Friday

  1. Congrats on the weightloss!! I know what you mean about it feeling backwards to eat more than you “want” to. When I was losing weight and tracking calories using Sparkpeople, I remember having to make sure I consumed 1550-1800 calories while exericising the amount that I was.
    The snow you have there is just beautiful, but I’m afraid someone needs to get the message to the clouds that it’s SPRING and we all need some warm weather! 😉

  2. You’ll hate me for saying this but I’m so jealous of your snow! We don’t get snow in Melbourne so waking up to that would be magical…well for me anyway! It’s getting colder here so it’d have to be warming up there got you soon!!

    • I really do love the snow during the winter! But it’s suppose to be spring here & we have had so much of it that we are all just desperate for some warmer weather. We would normally be hitting temps in the 60’s (15 Celsius, I think) but we are just hitting 40 (4)

      • I totally understand (in an opposite side of the world way!) we have only recently come out of a very hot summer-many 40C (100F??) days so we were looking for the cooler days of autumn. Instead we slipped into winter early 😦 I just want a month of sunny warm days before we get cold. My brain works better that way!!

I'd love to hear what you think!